Cosplay Interview: The Starktorialist

Time for the first interview of the new year. Huzzah again!! Today, I bring an interview with Sara, a.k.a. the Starkorialist. She has a penchant for Assassin’s Creed, which she expresses through her cosplays. Read on to learn more about her.

Jacky the Nerd: What is your name?

Starkorialist: I go by Stark or Sara! But I respond best to Sara.

JtN: How long have you been cosplaying?

Starkorialist: I’ve been cosplaying since 2006. I didn’t start making my costumes until 2009 though.

JtN: Why do you cosplay?

Sara as Lady Arno Dorian from Assassin's Creed: Unity. Photograpy by Steve Vo.
Sara as Lady Arno Dorian from Assassin’s Creed: Unity. Photograpy by Steve Vo.

Starkorialist: At first, I did it because I saw these awesome cosplayers cosplaying my favorite characters at the time. I thought it was hella rad, and being that shameless kid in elementary school, I went and gave it a try! Now I do it because I love the whole process of making a costume come to life!

JtN: You say you started making your own costumes in 2009, but got involved in 2006. How did you make or obtain your cosplays for those first three years?

Starkorialist: My parents were supportive over this quirky hobby. They questioned it a lot, but went with it anyways. But I mostly did a lot of closet cosplays that were affordable for my age back then.

JtN: What was it like transitioning to building your own costumes?

Starkorialist: It was a pretty big learning curve. Sewing classes in high school helped. I can get super impatient so it was stressful at first when you accidentally sew the wrong sides together …or sew a sleeve to the neck opening. That actually happened recently when I was sewing [a cosplay], I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry because I was so sleep deprived. Either way, you’ll get the flow of things after many trial and errors (and in my opinion, you learn the most from it! Baby steps!). Be patient with yourself, and avoid rushing the costume the night before a con.

JtN: What is the cosplay you built that you are most proud of?

Starkorialist: Mary Read for sure. It was the first cosplay where I stepped out of my comfort zone and really got to challenge myself. And it’s funny ’cause a few years back, I remember seeing Ezio’s AC2 design and went like “Bruh, no. That’s impossible to make.” But look where we are now.

Sara as Mary Reed from Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag. Photography by Freya Moon Photography.
Sara as Mary Reed from Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag. Photography by Freya Moon Photography.

JtN: What is your favorite convention experience so far?

Starkorialist: It would have to be Anime Revolution 2014! I wore Mary/James for two days and got to meet a lot of other Assassin’s Creed cosplayers! At one point we merged together and traveled in a wolf pack, so that was pretty awesome.

JtN: What is one of your favorite things about cosplay?

Starkorialist: Definitely making the costumes! I love the whole process of it and the hunt on finding the right materials, even though it’ll drive you insane at times.

Sara as DC Comics's Starfire. Photography by 路人L I F E
Sara as DC Comics’s Starfire. Photography by 路人L I F E

JtN: What costumes are you planning on building in the future?

Starkorialist: Mad/Moon Moxxi and more Assassin’s Creed costumes! (Hopefully someone from Assassin’s Creed: Victory!)

JtN: What advice do you have to offer to cosplayers?

Starkorialist: Set your own standards, have fun and don’t compare yourself to others!

I’d like to thank Sara for her time and her answers. To see what Sara is up to, check her out on Facebook, Tumblr, and Twitter. All photos are copyrights of their respective owners.

Leave a Reply

