Cosplay Interview: Mouse Cosplay

Sorry about the late activity. But I am bringing an interview with a cosplayer who goes by Mouse.

Jacky the Nerd: What is your name?

Mouse’s Cosplay: Elyse.

JtN: How long have you been cosplaying?

Mouse’s Cosplay: I’ve been cosplaying since 2005, so almost 10 years.

JtN: Why do you cosplay?

Mouse’s Cosplay: I cosplay because I feel like it’s the best way to express love for a character or series. Plus it is so much fun being someone else, even if only for a moment. I feel like a kid as I play pretend. Not to mention, I have met all my friends through cosplay. Without it, I probably wouldn’t have any friends really.

Elyse as Ruby from ABC's Once Upon a Time
Elyse as Ruby from ABC’s Once Upon a Time

JtN: How did cosplay help you build your social life?

Mouse’s Cosplay: I’ve honestly met all my friends via cosplay. We met because we were cosplaying from the same series and just started talking. I’m a very shy person and very awkward, so I have a hard time making friends. I’m friendly, so I have no problem being kind to people, but creating lasting relationships isn’t easy for me. And cosplay gave me a way to create those relationships. Without it, I would have no social life.

JtN: Sounds like cosplay really impacted you in a good way. Is there a character you cosplay as that you connect with?

Mouse’s Cosplay: Hmmm… I actually have to think about it. I’ve always just cosplayed characters I love, and I connect to them a little here and there, but there’s no one character I connect with completely.

I think I might go with Bilbo. I know he’s male, and I’m female, but it doesn’t matter to me. He has all the sass I have, but he’s friendly like me as well, and a wee bit socially awkward. He always wants to help, but he’s scared to at the same time, because leaving his comfort zone isn’t an easy thing for him. But he’s brave, braver than I, and also far more clever than I’ll ever be. But he’s the kind of person I want to be.

But again, there are pieces here and there for every character I cosplay.

Elyse as Bilo Baggins from Tolkien's The Hobbit
Elyse as Bilo Baggins from Tolkien’s The Hobbit

JtN: What other characters do you like to cosplay as?

Mouse’s Cosplay: I really enjoy cosplaying Scarlet Witch and Supergirl. But I think Wonder Girl is my most comfy

JtN: What is it you find appealing about superheroes?

Mouse’s Cosplay: And it isn’t the superhero I find appealing. It’s the character. I love cosplaying Bilbo Baggins and he isn’t a superhero. I just happen to name super heroes.

JtN: How do you obtain your cosplays?

Mouse’s Cosplay: I actually make them.

JtN: What’s your favorite part about making the costume?

Mouse’s Cosplay: Finishing it.

JtN: What is your favorite cosplay experience?

Mouse’s Cosplay: When I see little kids excited to see me and think I’m the real deal. It makes me so happy. It had happened a few times, so I can’t just pick one.

To see more of Elyse’s work, follow her Facebook, Tumblr, and Instagram! I want to thank Elyse for her time and answers. Now, go give her some love.

Leave a Reply

