Cosplay Interview: Mocular Agatha

After nearly a month without an interview, I finally made a cold call and got a response. I first noticed this cosplayer two years ago due to her steampunk Link cosplay. She popped back up in my attention recently, and I decided to reach out. She responded, and I am pleased to bring you an interview with Costa Rican cosplayer Molecular Agatha!Jacky the Nerd: What is your name and/or cosplay alias?

Mocular Agatha: My real name is Marianela, and my cosplay alias is Molecular Agatha.

JtN: How long have you been cosplaying?

Mocular Agatha: I have been a cosplayer for 9 years.

JtN: Why do you cosplay?

Mocular Agatha: I like to express myself through cosplay, [and] I like alternative modeling. Also, I love to sew and design and [it is] very important to meet people with the same passion.

Molecular Agatha as Feminine Purple Link (The Legend of Zelda)
Molecular Agatha as Feminine Purple Link (The Legend of Zelda)

JtN: As a long time cosplayer, what was the community like in 2006 when you first got started?

Mocular Agatha: At least in my country, Costa Rica, [when] it was starting, people used mops as wigs, and satin fabrics (for my taste they are the worst). But with [the] years, [the] community has been learning new ways to improve cosplay through tutorials and pro cosplayers around the world.

JtN: What is the cosplay project you’re proudest of?

Mocular Agatha: So far, my Megaman X gender-bend cosplay.

Molcular Agatha as X (MegaMan X series)
Molcular Agatha as X (MegaMan X series)

JtN: What other kinds of cosplay and modeling do you do?

Mocular Agatha: Conceptual (animals make up for example), pin-up, bodypainting basically.

JtN: What inspires you to cosplay?

Mocular Agatha: A lot of things [inspire me]: one of them is the idea of resolving every cosplay (construction), also the idea that I can travel and meet more people with the same passion.

JtN: Could you tell us about your favorite cosplay related traveling experience?

Mocular Agatha: It was when I traveled in 2014 to Anime Expo; [it was] so amazing. But also to almost all [of Central] America as a cosplay guest.

Molecular Agatha as Skateboard Link (The Legend of Zelda)
Molecular Agatha as Skateboard Link (The Legend of Zelda)

JtN: What are you plans for the future, cosplay and/or non-cosplay related?

Mocular Agatha: For cosplay I am working on videos , my Patreon site, and hopefully to travel more. Non cosplay plans, keep a job so I can pay the bills or have money in case of an emergency (medical, educational, etc.).

JtN: Would you care to say something to the readers?

Mocular Agatha: You can follow my work through social media (Facebook, tumblr, YouTube, deviantART, and Patreon). Search for Molecular Agatha to stay in contact. Also, thank you so much for the interview I really appreciate [it].

As always, I would like to thank my interviewee and my readers.

Molecular Agatha's steampunk Link, which I first noticed in 2013. (The Legend of Zelda series)
Molecular Agatha’s steampunk Link, which I first noticed in 2013. (The Legend of Zelda series)

 

Writer’s Note: Marianela’s first language is not English, so I edited her answers for readability. I maintained the context. Once again, I would like to thank her for taking the time to speak with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

