Cosplay Interview: Lien

I met this cosplayer two or three years ago via tumblr thanks to a mutual love for The Legend of Zelda. His name is Lien, and I asked him for an interview this week. He was happy to oblige.

Jacky the Nerd: What is your name/cosplay alias?

Lien: [The] cosplay name I gave myself: Ordonian Hero. I felt a connection to the people in Ordon village in Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess. The hero comes from what Link becomes after he brings light and saves Hyrule from the game. Thus my name.

JtN: How long have you been cosplaying?

Lien: I have not been cosplaying long, but four years of cosplaying has been an experience and I am still learning today.

JtN: Why do you cosplay?

Lien: I cosplay in hopes to make someone’s day. I went through a dark time in my life back in 2012. During that time, I had a dream basically give me a push to start cosplaying a character who I felt a connection to. The message was “I will help lift you up when you fall down. I will hold out this light for you in this darkness. However, in the end you will find it in you to get up and be the one holding that light out to others in the same darkness. You will become me.” This the start of cosplaying as Twilight Princess Link. He basically allowed myself to grow strong and I am always driven to just help others, make a Zelda fan smile and also become my true self as well. That is why I cosplay.

Lien's Cosplay (1)
Lien as Link from Twilight Princess

JtN: What is one of your favorite cosplay experiences?

Lien: What is one of your favorite cosplay experiences? One of my favorite cosplay experience was when I was walking around Japan town in San Fransico and a Legend of Zelda fan spotted me. She was visiting from another country and she basically ran up to me and was like “you are Twilight Princess Link.” And her mother came and joined us. This girl who was 12 or 13 years old gushed her heart out to me and how much she was so happy to see me there and how much it made her happy it made her. The smile on her face was so precious. She now follows me on Instagram. Moments like that touch me. That I can make a fan smile that much.

JtN: You’ve done different versions of Link. What is your favorite version to wear?

Lien: You’ve done different versions of Link. What is your favorite version to wear? As of late it has been the one I created for the cold weather. Winter garb. It’s basically all the same stuff farmer garb is but with long sleeve shirt and boots. It’s keeps me weather warm. Also doesn’t require me to wear three body shapers to hide the weight I put on during the fall and winter time.

Lien's Cosplay (3)
Lien in his “winter garb” Link

JtN: What is one of the things you find challenging about making cosplays?

Lien: What is one of the things you find challenging about making cosplays? I basically buy and then review cosplay commissions I wear. However, in making, getting my measurements right and then sewing it and realizing you are off a bunch. I was working on some custom art work style of farmer Link and screwed up the skirt and apron piece. I just not very good at making things on my own. I can sew things. Just not as confident or knowledgeable as I like. Futuristically I hope to be making my own cosplays. For now, I will stick to giving credit to the amazing commissioners who made all my cosplays.

JtN: One of my personal favorite cosplays you’ve done is your Sailor Moon Link. What was the inspiration behind that?

Lien: Sailor Scout Link was inspired by an artist who drew Twilight Princess Link as Sailor Jupiter. The artist’s name on their Twitter handle is @gurururu1551. At first the idea of doing this was going to be a joke and I wasn’t going to go through and do it, but the more I stared at it, the more I wanted to do it. It took me out of my comfort zone and it was something I saw no other cosplay has done for the Zelda community. So I made it happen. I lasted two hours before having to get out of it. Three body shapers is like wearing a corset. But it got well received love and attention.

Lien's Cosplay (4)
Sailor Link with Sailor Venus

JtN: Have you cosplayed other characters, or considered cosplaying other characters before? Why or why not?

Lien: I have done other cosplays for friends. However, I never fully felt comfortable with the characters. I am attempting to do a Garlt of Riviar cosplay. But that going to take some time. However, I am one of those cosplayers where I feel comfortable cosplaying the one character and changing his look up every time. I cannot see myself in other characters or relate.

JtN: What future plans do you have, cosplay or non-cosplay related?

Lien: Currently I have a list of cosplays I am wanting to build. They are a bunch of fan art some people made of different themes and style of Link. But my medical condition is currently on the top of the list then building costumes.

JtN: Is there anything you want to say to the readers?

Lien: Cosplay is about having fun. When you start not having fun or feel like you cannot cosplay something, look at why you feel that way. Know that anyone can cosplay something. A person’s weight, gender identity, race, and orientation does not dictate who can and cannot do something. Cosplay for yourself and not for attention and fame. Just have fun with it and make it your own thing. And if you cannot build your cosplay, it’s okay to have one commissioned for you. Just remember to not take credit for their work.

To follow Lien and see more of his cosplays, you can follow him on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

