Go go Breakfast Club Rangers!

The new Power Rangers movie looks interesting to say the very least.And when I say interesting, what I actually mean is not very good! The trailer feels like it wants to be a Breakfast Club style teen drama with superheroes. One of my friends compared it to Chronicle (another movie about teenagers getting super powers), and he and I agree that Power Rangers 2017 is looking like it’ll be Dragonball Evolution levels of bad.

I’m just going to come out and say it: I want this movie to be bad because I’m not expecting anything good, but fun. And I think everyone knows just what I’m talking about. Like, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: the Secret of the Ooze bad. Or Sharknado bad. Or the original Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers: The Movie type bad. This ain’t high Oscar bait we’re discussing here people.

As bad as this movie may or may not be, I do want this movie to be fun and entertaining because that is what it needs to be. After all, it’s POWER RANGERS!!! Power Rangers is about people in spandex that’s all the colors of the rainbow karate chopping and James T. Kirk drop-kicking rubber monsters to death, those monsters getting big, and then the people in spandex summoning giant robots to beat the giant monster to death…AGAIN!!!!

What it appears we may be getting is something that feels a little too serious. The first trailer is setting up a tone that I don’t envision when I think Power Rangers. After all, I grew up watching that stuff and it was arguably the worst thing my little 6 year-old brain needed at the time. And this movie is probably the worst thing my 20-something brain needs, but I still want it.

This is a movie that I will review (hopefully) whenever it comes out.

 

Leave a Reply

