Cosplay Interview: Claudio from Italy

I come at you with another cosplay interview. I’ve been reaching out to more people, and this time I bring an interview from Italy.

Jacky the Nerd: What is your name?

Claudio: My name is Claudio.

JtN: When did you start cosplaying?

Claudio: I started cosplaying about [6 or 7] years ago.

JtN: Why do you cosplay?

Claudio: I really enjoy making the costume! The crafting part is what I really love about cosplay, but because I like to do “something more” for the character that I really like being literally in their clothes and act like them, it helps me to be less shy than usual.

JtN: What is your favorite cosplay?

Claudio: That I have done? I think that probably is Captain America!

Archie (Pokemon ORAS) cosplay
Claudio as Archie from the Pokemon ORAS games

JtN: Ok. I noticed your Archie (Pokemon: Omega Sapphire) cosplay, and you’ve mentioned building a Captain America cosplay. Can you tell us about the process of making body suits?

Claudio: It all starts with finding the right fabric! calculate it’s stretch [percentage], making a good pattern for the suit, mock up and finally sew the all thing together! For Archie it has been quite a simple process, but for Captain American I had to remake everything like 3 times before the proportions of all [the] pieces were right.

JtN: Can you tell me about a good experience you’ve had while cosplaying?

Claudio: Well, I’ve met most of my friend thanks to cosplay! So, all the [memories] I have with them could count as good experience.

JtN: What inspires or motivates you when you find it difficult to work on a cosplay?

Claudio: When I find difficult to work on a cosplay, usually I take a break from that, like 2 [or] 3 days off without even watching it. It helps clear my mind and find new solution to problems!

Claudio as Sora from Kingdom Hearts: the Star Seeker Keyblade sits next to him
Claudio as Sora from Kingdom Hearts: the Star Seeker Keyblade sits next to him

JtN: What is the nicest thing anyone has done or said to you while in cosplay?

Claudio: When some kids greeted me and believed that I was the real character!

JtN: What are your plans for the future, cosplay and/or non-cosplay related?

Claudio: Right now I’m working on the Machinist gear from Final Fantasy XIV! And working as a tailor/pattern maker in a fabric that [makes] catwalk dresses.

JtN: What do you want to say to the readers?

Claudio: Keep having fun whatever you do and do not listen to any haters!

To follow Claudio and find more of his cosplays, you can find him on deviantART and on Facebook.

Claudio as Takuto from Star Driver
Claudio as Takuto from Star Driver
Leave a Reply

