Interview: Lilales Cosplay

End of the year, end of the last semester as a college undergrad, and back into the cosplay interviewing saddle!! HUZZAH!!! For the last interview of 2014, I present an interview with Allison, who is otherwise known as Liliales in the cosplay circles.

Jacky the Nerd: What is your name?

Liliales: My name is Allison

JtN: How long have you been cosplaying?

Liliales: I’ve been cosplaying since I was 16 or 17 but I didn’t really start getting into it until I was in my 20’s.

JtN: Why do you cosplay?

Allison as Hello Kitty.
Allison as Hello Kitty.

Liliales: I cosplay because it’s fun and it’s also a great outlet for my creativity. I also love the feeling I get when I gear up and go out. The feeling is a weird concoction of excitement and anxiety plus some sort of small adrenaline rush. My favorite thing is when I dress up as a princess and go out. It’s so much fun to see adults get excited but it’s the best when kids freak out too. They hug you and hold your hand and just talk to you about all sorts of things (unless you encounter a shy one but that’s just as adorable). I guess I should add warm fuzzies to that concoction because sometimes just by being in costume I can make someone’s horrible or boring day a million times better and that’s just really amazing.

JtN: What princess character(s) have you cosplayed as?

Liliales: The only princess I’ve cosplayed so far is Aurora. She’s my favorite Disney princess. I do plan on cosplaying Anna soon (yeah I’m getting on the bandwagon).

Allison as Princess Aurora of Disney's "Sleeping Beauty"
Allison as Princess Aurora of Disney’s “Sleeping Beauty”

JtN: What other characters do you cosplay as?

Liliales: Well, so far I’ve only cosplayed a few. I’ve done Black cat, Anarchy Panty, Neliel, Briar Rose, Namine, Zelda, and Hello Kitty. A lot of what I just listed (actually probably all of it) is either not finished or being re-done (because I’m a terrible procrastinator). Namine and Zelda were my first cosplays ever and were horrible! (I have no pictures of those anymore and I’m glad). I’m sure a lot of people feel that way about their first cosplays. I wish I had the time and money to make new costumes every week like some cosplayers! I’m hoping to actually get a good handful done in 2015.

JtN: What cosplay are you most excited about working on?

Liliales: Oh man, I really don’t think I can choose. Every cosplay I’ve done or have planned has something about it that makes it exciting.

JtN: What is your favorite thing about building cosplays?

Liliales: Well I have 3 things actually. I love working on the wigs for my costumes and making armor and/or accessories. I also really enjoy the planning stage where I look for reference pics, find fabric/ materials, and the wig!

Allison as Marvel's Black Cat.
Allison as Marvel’s Black Cat.

JtN: What is your favorite anime series?

Liliales: Oh gosh. That’s really hard because I love so many…if I had to choose just one it would be Sailor Moon.

JtN: Do you plan on cosplaying as any Sailor Moon character in the future?

Liliales: Oh yes! I’m planning on cosplaying Super Sailor Moon (manga version), Sailor Moon (first manga fuku), Sailor Star Healer, maybe Berthier, Princess Serenity (manga version), and Princess Venus. I have about 3 Sailor Moon related cosplays that I’m keeping secret.

JtN: Sounds like you’re ready to be the whole Sailor Squadron. Is there any advice you want to share with other cosplayers?

Liliales: To other cosplayers I say:

  1. Take your time on projects.
  2. If you don’t have the money for a costume or a con wait until you do.
  3. Never neglect real life responsibilities for a costume or a con because that will only harm you in the long run.
  4. If there’s a cosplayer you don’t like, just ignore them. You don’t see arachnophobes actively looking for spiders do you? No one is forcing you to look at their work or interact with them.
  5. If you really want to express your opinion on something do it on YOUR page and express yourself in a civil manner.

As always, I want to thank you for reading and thanks to Allison for her time. Hope you’ll drop by and visit again soon! To see more of Allison’s cosplays, visit her Facebook page here!

All images were provided by the courtesy of Allison/Liliales and are copyrights of their respective producers.

Leave a Reply

